Home / Happy Holidays Blog / Catholic Holy Days June – December: Western Christian liturgical seasons and important days of worship during “Ordinary Time”

Catholic Holy Days June – December: Western Christian liturgical seasons and important days of worship during “Ordinary Time”

Christian Ordinary Time, from Pentecost Monday to the Saturday before the First Sunday of Advent, is a calm season punctuated by some special celebrations.

All Western Christian liturgical calendars are based on the liturgy of the Roman Catholic Church. The year consists of six liturgical seasons:

  • Advent
  • Christmas
  • Ordinary Time (Time after Epiphany)
  • Lent
  • Easter
  • the resumption of Ordinary Time (Time after Pentecost).

The year is dotted by important days of worship. In the Catholic Church, these are, in diminishing order of importance:

  • 10 “Holy Days of Obligation”, when one is obligated to go to Mass and abstain from work, just like on Sundays. Only the Vatican observes all 10.
  • 17 “Solemnities”, which observe an event in the life of Jesus, Mary and the Saints.
  • “Feasts”, “Memorials” and “Optional Memorials”.

These are the major celebrations during this Ordinary Time:

  • Sunday, 11 June 2017 is Trinity Sunday (a Solemnity).
  • Sunday, 18 June 2017 is the Solemnity of The Body and Blood of Christ, or Corpus Christi, commemorating the institution of the Holy Eucharist.
  • Friday, 23 June 2017, the Solemnity of the Sacred Heart of Jesus, celebrates Christ’s divine and human love for all his children symbolized in his physical heart.
  • Saturday, 24 June 2017 is the Solemnity of the Birth of John the Baptist.
  • 29 June, 2017 is the Solemnity of the Apostles Saint Peter and Saint Paul.
  • Sunday, 6 August 2017, the Feast of the Transfiguration of the Lord, commemorates the manifestation to Peter, James and John of the divine glory of Jesus on Mount Tabor before the eyes of the disciples.
  • Tuesday, 15 August 2017 is a Holy Day of Obligation, celebrating the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin. In Ghent, in Flanders, Belgium, this day is known as “Vive Marie” and is a Mother’s Day of sorts.
  • Wednesday, 1 November 2017, the Solemnity of All Saints’ or All Hallows’, is a time to honor all known and unknown Saints.
  • On Thursday, 2 November 2017, All Souls Day, the faithful are to pray for the souls of the departed, because they are not yet fully cleansed of sin (until Judgment Day).
  • Sunday, 26 November 2017, the Solemnity of Christ the King, was established in 1925 to counteract secularism and atheism in modern society.
  • On 3 December, the Season of Advent begins, bringing Ordinary Time to a close.

Check Also

Enjoyable and Economical Holiday Films for Gifts: Great Films Make Nice Last-Minute Holiday and Christmas Presents

After busy and exciting days of wrapping presents and opening them, it’s nice to have ...